Young girl dies after taking ‘teddies’. A story about taking drugs for 11yrs to teenage.

Sharon learns something about drugs

Sharon's Avatar

Sharon was bored again. She heard something on the news about a girl of 12 who died after taking something called ‘teddies’. It was a made to look harmless and fun in the shape of a teddy’s head. She searched for ‘teddies’ on her laptop . Immediately she found a site which claimed to advise people about drugs. There were a few questions and answers about taking unknown pills, and then she found this poem. It grabbed her attention.

“I destroy homes, tear families apart – take your children, and that’s just the start.
I’m more costly than diamonds, more costly than gold – the sorrow I bring is a sight to behold.
And if you need me, remember I’m easily found.
I live all around you, in schools and in town.
I live with the rich, I live with the poor, I live down the street, and maybe next door.
My power is awesome – try me you’ll see.
But if you do, you may never break free.
Just try me once and I might let you go, but try me twice, and I’ll own your soul.
When I possess you, you’ll steal and you’ll lie.
You’ll do what you have to just to get high.
The crimes you’ll commit, for my narcotic charms, will be worth the pleasure you’ll feel in your arms.
You’ll lie to your mother; you’ll steal from your dad.
When you see their tears, you should feel sad.
But you’ll forget your morals and how you were raised.
I’ll be your conscience, I’ll teach you my ways.
I take kids from parents, and parents from kids, I turn people from God, and separate from friends.
I’ll take everything from you, your looks and your pride, I’ll be with you always, right by your side.
You’ll give up everything – your family, your home, your friends, your money, then you’ll be alone.
I’ll take and I’ll take, till you have nothing more to give.
When I’m finished with you you’ll be lucky to live.
If you try me be warned this is no game. 
If given the chance, I’ll drive you insane.
I’ll ravish your body, I’ll control your mind.
I’ll own you completely; your soul will be mine.
The nightmares I’ll give you while lying in bed.
The voices you’ll hear from inside your head.
The sweats, the shakes, the visions you’ll see.
I want you to know, these are all gifts from me.
But then it’s too late, and you’ll know in your heart, that you are mine, and we shall not part.
You’ll regret that you tried me, they always do.
But you came to me, not I to you.
You knew this would happen. 
Many times you were told, but you challenged my power, and chose to be bold.
You could have said no, and just walked away.
If you could live that day over, now what would you say?
I’ll be your master; you will be my slave.
I’ll even go with you, when you go to your grave.
Now that you have met me, what will you do?
Will you try me or not? 
Its all up to you.
I can bring you more misery than words can tell.
Come take my hand, let me lead you to hell.”
by
Samantha Reynolds

Crystal, hash, teddies, they have many names and many effects. Young people may be tempted to try them. They may be told that it’s cool to take them, that their lives will be more exciting, and that the drugs are not addictive. Their friends may be taking them, or they meet someone in the street who is young and smiling, who offers friendship and kindness, and drugs. What to do? How bad is it? How bad could it be?

Just picture your mother or father finding you slumped in a corner unable to move. That’s how bad it can be. Picture your grandma dabbing her eyes with her hanky and saying, ‘She shouldn’t have died before me.’

It can be that bad. Or it can send you to a mental hospital. Your brain is a delicate instrument. Some of these drugs are contaminated or are much stronger than you think; you just don’t know what you are swallowing or sniffing or injecting.

Or it can go so well that you want to find more. You can’t stop thinking about it. It was so good you were able to forget all your troubles. You need more, but it costs money and you don’t have enough. You steal from your parents. Eventually they get so angry with you that you leave home. You are on the street with no money, no food and no drugs. You steal from an old lady; you take her bag. She is so frightened and shocked that she falls over and hits her head and dies. You go to prison. You think you might be among friends in prison but you are not. They are violent and dangerous people and they hurt you. This is a black tale, but it happens far more than you want to know, and all because someone was tempted to ‘have some fun’.

It can be a very slippery slope and slippery slopes are almost impossible to climb out of. Suicides are common among drug users. Don’t become one, ever. You can always find people who say they have been using drugs for years and are still OK, but there are many who are not. Surely it is not worth the risk?

Questions:

What questions would you like to ask? Don’t be afraid to ask an informed adult, someone you trust. Do not ask a drug user, they will probably not give you an honest answer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

